top of page

  WHEN LIVE CLICK HERE!  
Dec-17  -  13.00-19.00 (GMT) 14.00-20.00 (CET) 

  sub_ʇxǝʇ * end of year special 
 

 

full programme:

As the contradictions of late capitalism strain at the leash of political discourse, a subtext of painful reckoning underlies the media landscape. Unsettling language, space and time following a year of radio silence we’re back in journalistic, spoken word and musical form. Charting a soundscape between architectural hermeticism, the failed so-called ‘festival of brexit’, folk, messy minimalism and deconstructed pop music, join us on December 17th for a very special end of year broadcast. With contributors hailing from Georgia (USA), Singapore, Berlin (Germany), Bristol and Derby (UK)!

13.00-19.00 (GMT) 14.00-20.00 (CET)
Only on Threads https://threadsradio.com/


 

  Shanti Suki Osman, Alex Head - ‘er 2 Er 13.00-13.30 (GMT) 14.00-14.30 (CET) - After a year of nomadic resettlement your two hosts discuss living life on both sides of the channel, inner ear surgery and more... A catch up special that will lead back to further episodes of Off Air Gems in the new year.

Chris Peck - Inside the Hits IV anti-hero 13.30-14.30 (GMT) 14.30-15.30 (CET) - Inside the Hits charts a not-so-swift path through Taylor Swift's chart-topping Midnights.

Sam Walsh - The Shaming-Industrial Complex 14.30-15.00 (GMT) 15.30-16.00 (CET) - Sam Walsh goes on a personal journey to answer the question: can shame be productive? Featuring conversations with the Roman Catholic priest Richard McKay, international writer and speaker Mac Macartney, and an organisation that supports survivors and dismantles the roots of male violence.

Fabian Saul - Bad Words 15.00-16.00 (GMT) 16.00-17.00 (CET) - Based on various works, the audio series Bad Words creates a place for a different way of speaking about language and literature, for approaching a new sense of language. From talks, readings, voice messages, field recordings and music, a walk-in space of multiple voices is created with changing guests. The agreement is: We start from one written work so that another can begin.

Sy Lyng Yong and Anna Kostreva - Einstein Tomb 16.00-16.30 (GMT) 17.00-17.30 (CET) - This show is an excerpt of a talk about the conceptual architecture project Einstein Tomb by Lebbeus Woods. The full presentation with images can be found on the you-tube channel OWMF architecture.

Bex Burch - Resonant Advisor 16.30-17.30 (GMT) 17.30-18.30 (CET) - Bex shares some vibrations from deep in the dark, moody, beautiful Berlin.

Alex Head w/ special guest Jared Yates Sexton - When Empires Decline 17.30-18.30 (GMT) 18.30-19.30 (CET) - In this special show Alex Head meets author, broadcaster, historian and commentator Jared Yates Sexton (US). They discuss everything from the current decline of the British way of life to toxic masculinity, algorithmically governed culture, conspiracy theorist useful idiots and more. Jared’s bi-weekly Muckrake Political Podcast, together with political commentator Nick Haussleman has traced the recent mutation or epi-mutation of the decline of US liberal democracy. Sexton’s recent work in print is The Midnight Kingdom, available on Penguin Random House.

FREY: Tamsin Elliott Interviewed by Sam Walsh 18.30-19.00 (GMT) 19.30-20.00 (CET) - Tamsin is a multi-instrumentalist, composer and film-maker based in Bristol, UK. With roots in the folk music of the British Isles, her interests and playing styles extend to European and Middle Eastern musics as well as experimental and ambient sounds. Her critically acclaimed debut solo album ‘FREY’, which features the playing of Sid Goldsmith and Rowan Rheingans, is out now on Penny Fiddle Records.





























 

bottom of page